My Hair and I! Naomi Kasanda: Afrorage Co-Founder

Naomi

Who am I?

I am a doctor by trade,  but I am so passionate about natural hair and natural skin and body care remedies that I am constantly told that I should move to specialize in holistic medicine!

The hair…!

I have always loved my hair from an early age, and my free time was usually spent learning how to braid it, twist it and care for it.  I relaxed my hair when entering University, and decades later I decided to go back to my natural hair.  I went through the big chop, endured the teeny weeny afro, but in three years I have grown my hair to armpit length.  I had to re-learn everything I learned about my hair, what oils worked well for it, what type of maintenance it needed as well as the different hairstyles that kept my hair healthy.  It was like learning a new skill, it took research, time and a lot of patience.

Why Afrorage?

This is why the women and I in my family started a natural beauty company called Afrorage.  Afrorage offers the best natural oils and butters for kinky hair care, as well as for skin and body care, but even more importantly we are providing information and assistance to women just like us who are going back to their natural hair, teaching them how to take care of their hair and offering as much advice on how to deal with all the natural hair struggles that one can have in our varied experiences as much as we possibly can.  I have a little girl who I tell everyday that she is beautiful just the way she is…this is our utopia.

Naomi

My hair regimen

My maintenance regime is simple, massage, moisturize and protect! I massage my scalp everyday and protective hairstyles 3 out of 5 days are my friend…  I use our products which are a blend of avocado and shea butter, coconut and sweet almond oils and essential oils; we made them and tested them on our hair so they work wonders for me!

Be yourself…

My words for you are simple; you have been fearfully and wonderfully made,  be yourself, accept your flaws and embrace your beauty, it will bring you incredible fulfillment and joy.

Kinky love,

Naomi

Leave a comment